Azed Competition No. 2087  Azed Slip  |  ◀  2083  |  2091  ▶  |  Other competitions  |  ordStats
No.DateClue wordClue typeClues
2087 Jun 2012ROCKET normal20


AwardClue writerClueExplanation
FirstT. J. MooreyTerm for ‘soar’ etc, OK in saladanag. incl. r, & lit.
SecondD. HarrisCoke locomotive coming in first in Rainhill Trialsanag. in R, T, & lit.; ref. Stephenson loco
ThirdT. CrowtherTicking off the seconds in order to achieve skyward send-off on timesecond letters + t
VHCT. AndersonRollicking start to celebrations aboard rather wet decksc in OK in ret; ref. jubilee pageant
VHCM. BarleyFireworks feature in Diamond Jubilee concert (at the end)rock + last letters
VHCP. ColesDicky ticker – love might make this one race!comp. anag.
VHCDr I. S. FletcherSee my upthrust prevented without source of propellantcor (rev.) + ke(p)t, & lit.
VHCR. GilbertPigeon? It’s preferred to rook for roastingrocker with ’t for r
VHCG. I. L. GraftonInitiators of early railways keenly commended this old locoanag. of first letters, & lit.
VHCR. J. HealdNaughty toker inhales a bit of cannabis – exotic stuff gets one very highc in anag.; see exotic
VHCMrs D. B. JenkinsonMay need some salt and French dressing?rock + et
VHCM. A. Macdonald-CooperDiamond Jubilee’s last time one famously appeared on track before admiring crowdrock + e t; ref. Stephenson
VHCD. F. ManleyCarpet here is beginning to look grotty? You could get cork tilescomp. anag. less l
VHCM. OwenOne’s leaves are stock in saladanag. less a’s, & lit.
VHCDr T. G. PowellForerunner of trains trailing steam (carrying a whiff of coal)c in roke + t, & lit.; ref. Stephenson
VHCT. RuddSecond Trek? Send this space explorer in new generationcomp. anag.; ref. ‘Star Trek – The Next Generation’
VHCDr S. J. ShawThis makes huge din when applying acceleration for start of orbitracket with o for a, & lit.
VHCJ. R. TozerPart of Fireworks Music concluding things in jubilee pageantrock + e, t
VHCL. WardShoot up coke mixed in crack (if dissipated)anag. in r(if)t
VHCR. ZaraEpic stint on this early loco could leave ticket inspector upsetcomp. anag.; ref. Stephenson

HCs in competition 2087 awarded to:

D. & N. AsplandW. DreverE. LoobyMrs A. Terrill
D. J. BexsonC. M. EdmundsP. W. MarlowL. Toole
J. BigginP. EvansP. McKennaMrs A. M. Walden
J. G. BoothD. V. HarryRev Prebendary M. R. MetcalfA. J. Wardrop
T. C. BorlandDr G. L. HeardC. G. MillinA. Whittaker
C. J. BroughamP. F. HendersonC. J. MorseMs B. Widger
Rev Canon C. M. BrounR. HeskethC. OgilvieJ. S. Witte
C. J. ButlerR. J. HooperR. J. PalmerJ. Woodall
C. A. ClarkeP. JenningsW. RansomeDr E. Young
E. CrossMrs J. M. JohnsonN. G. Shippobotham 
Mrs M. CunliffeJ. C. LeylandI. Simpson