Azed Cup Winners
Winning clues by year    |    All-time top competitors
 No of WinsFirst winLatest win
N. C. Dexter3014 1988
D. F. Manley3031 2200
C. J. Morse21419 2168
R. J. Hooper19203 2058
T. J. Moorey15423 2087
M. Barley14701 2196
Dr I. S. Fletcher13564 2135
R. J. Heald121476 2191
J. R. Tozer121212 2049
C. G. Millin11161 2010
Dr E. Young11384 2023
F. R. Palmer9110 1424
C. R. Gumbrell81122 1624
P. F. Henderson8835 1940
R. J. Whale8538 2122
C. O. Butcher766 281
R. J. Palmer7148 1411
Dr J. Burscough6869 2053
B. Greer6146 982
R. S. Morse6952 1908
W. J. M. Scotland6306 640
W. K. M. Slimmings6123 823
R. C. Teuton61598 2165
C. J. Brougham5770 1949
E. J. Burge5406 1008
V. Dixon51338 1866
J. F. Grimshaw5576 1810
M. D. Laws5393 1325
J. C. Leyland5774 2100
H. W. Massingham553 1069
J. R. Beresford41052 1593
J. P. Guiver41580 2074
F. P. N. Lake4362 1322
R. K. Lumsdon4731 1511
J. D. Moore4627 764
R. F. Naish4779 1084
T. E. Sanders462 631
Dr S. J. Shaw42027 2161
P. L. Stone4961 2109
C. Allen Baker3143 495
D. Ashcroft3500 1220
T. C. Borland31762 2170
Rev Canon C. M. Broun379 1492
C. A. Clarke3969 2096
M. Coates31087 1593
N. Connaughton31596 2152
H. Freeman3788 1856
D. V. Harry3187 709
V. G. Henderson3371 908
J. P. H. Hirst327 464
G. Johnstone3340 1360
J. R. Kirby388 247
C. Loving3285 1893
M. A. Macdonald-Cooper31953 2144
Mrs J. Mackie31126 1559
W. L. Miron397 238
R. Phillips3891 1576
J. B. Sweeting3197 844
D. H. Tompsett3818 1139
D. Williamson3139 1376
R. H. Adey2259 753
T. Anderson240 1728
D. K. Arnott21962 2064
H. J. Bradbury2534 840
R. Dean2809 1737
R. V. Dearden2250 1303
C. M. Edmunds2517 1733
R. P. C. Forman2352 1750
P. D. Gaffey2319 1156
N. C. Goddard2183 401
S. Goldie295 622
R. R. Greenfield21659 1715
J. Grimes21676 2006
G. M. Hornby210 434
J. Horwood2105 486
J. R. H. Jones2874 1862
P. W. Marlow21541 1979
L. May292 298
Dr E. J. Miller2581 692
C. J. & R. S. Morse2267 609
T. W. Mortimer2831 978
D. Parfitt21788 1797
G. Perry2618 1459
D. Price Jones21034 1428
E. R. Riddle2506 558
D. R. Robinson2696 1169
N. G. Shippobotham21506 1567
A. J. Wardrop21433 1827
G. H. Willett21300 1524
Ms E. Allen1114  
D. Arthur1878  
D. & N. Aspland12116  
M. J. Bailey11389  
M. J. Bath11563  
E. A. Beaulah11161  
R. C. Bell11174  
Mrs K. Bissett1289  
C. Boyd11897  
R. Brain1712  
J. D. Brightley143  
B. Burton11143  
C. J. Butler12070  
C. J. & M. P. Butler11242  
J. Campbell1766  
Mrs M. J. Cansfield1332  
P. Cargill1600  
B. Cheesman11784  
P. R. Clemow15  
G. P. Conway12183  
R. M. S. Cork1200  
E. Cross11779  
A. J. Crow1178  
T. M. Crowther11975  
D. J. Dare-Plumpton11260  
H. A. C. Darwen150  
A. J. Dorn11463  
M. Earle11004  
P. S. Elliott1615  
J. A. Fincken175  
B. Franco1272  
E. H. Furnival1439  
N. Gambier1118  
F. D. Gardiner1195  
R. Gilbert11845  
E. Gomersall11273  
G. I. L. Grafton11398  
A. K. Gregory1460  
R. Haddock11454  
R. J. Hannam11406  
D. A. Harris12062  
R. Hesketh11901  
S. Holgate1718  
E. M. Holroyd1327  
R. H. F. Isham1469  
W. Jackson1805  
B. C. James1556  
Mrs N. J. Jarman157  
M. S. Taylor & N. C. Johns1814  
K. W. Johnson184  
L. F. Leason145  
J. P. Lester1568  
P. Machin1294  
P. Martin12012  
J. Mayhew11984  
G. T. McLean11888  
J. R. C. Michie11372  
K. Milan12174  
J. Mortleman11367  
H. B. Morton1974  
R. A. Mostyn1314  
C. J. Napier11203  
M. Owen12148  
S. L. Paton11  
W. H. Pegram1657  
M. L. Perkins136  
Mrs E. M. Phair11446  
B. A. Pike1263  
Miss I. M. Raab1508  
W. Ransome12113  
A. J. Redstone1543  
H. L. Rhodes1895  
Rear Adm W. T. C. Ridley1301  
T. Rudd12178  
A. J. Shields1926  
Mrs E. J. Shields1310  
D. J. Short11685  
I. Simpson11945  
J. G. Stubbs1513  
T. R. Theakston1594  
G. A. Tomlinson118  
Mrs J. E. Townsend11702  
Mrs A. M. Walden12065  
L. Ward12036  
N. Warne12131  
L. J. Wayman1130  
Rev C. D. Westbrook123  
D. E. Schlesinger & M. Wetherfield1972  
M. Woolf1174  
Dr R. L. Wynne1234  

The Azed Cup

D. F. Manley
wins First Prize in competition 2200.


Give possible rendition of this with Greene King – i.e. sing, drinking beer?

This year’s honours table

The next Azed competition puzzle will be out on Sunday 5th October

Dr Watson reviews Azed 2205

From the archive

Old verse composed with —— may be seen as Palgrave is opened (8)

Third prize winner by D. F. Manley in competition 1052